LLoyd Bridges
Ron & Valerie Taylor
Dick Anderson
Carl Roessler
Bill Acker
Jacques Cousteau
Al Tillman
Mike Ball
Cathy Church
Louis Boutan
Chuck Nicklin
Ben Cropp
Stan Waterman
Jerry Greenberg
Bob Halstead
Henry Albert Fleuss
Dan Orr  
E. R. Cross
John Cronin
Kendall McDonald
Daniel Mercier
Yves Le Prieur
Neal Watson  
Gustav Dalla Valle
David Doubilet
Spencer Slate
Drew Richardson
Rouquayrol &  Denayrouze
Decima MAS
Dr. Jefferson Davis
Bob Hollis
Akira Tateishi
Ron Steven
Howard and Michele Hall
Sylvia Earle
Zale Parry
Dewey Bergman
Kimiuo Aisek
Andre Laban
Bernard Eaton
Ivan Tors
Ernie Brooks
Geri Murphy
Clement Lee
Emile Gagnan
Paul Tzimoulis
Andreas Rechnitzer
Howard Rosenstein
Bev Morgan
Al Giddings
Auxier & Blakeslee
Capt. Don Stewart
Larry Smith
Allan Power
Hans &  Lottie Hass
Jean Michel Cousteau
Neville Coleman
Williamson Brothers
Hugh Bradner
Jack Lavanchy
Fredric Dumas
Ralph Erickson
Eugenie Clark
Louis de Corlieu
Jack McKenney
Jordan Klein
Rodney Fox
Nick Icorn
John Scott Haldane
Bob Soto
Frank Scalli
Paul Humann
Francis Toribiong
Alese and Morton Pechter
Hall Members
Click on any image to reach that member's page
Zale Parry



Video Biography


Notable Achievements:

Cover girl, professional underwater photographer, research diver, successful actress with credits in films both with and without underwater scenes.

A co-founder of the International Underwater Film Festival. First Woman president of the Underwater Photographic Society, recipient of  NOGI award, DEMA Reaching Out award and many other honors.

For a lifetime of encouraging the public to take up diving, appointed Ambassador at Large by the Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences.

Hall Members
Press Releases
Photo Gallery
Video Biographies
Virtual Museum
Old Time Movies
Contact Us
Zale Parry


Born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; elder of seven children. Pioneer skin diver 1947 / scuba 1951; aquatic specialist; early underwater equipment tester for Scientific Underwater Research Enterprises; hyperbaric science/research partner; Sports Illustrated cover girl May 1955: one of first certified scuba instructors; Intl. Film Festival co-founder/coproducer 1957. As an accomplished underwater photographer, Zale was elected first woman President of the U/W Photographic Society 1960.

She is known as someone ultimately involved, who made a difference, and who encouraged thousands of people, men as well as women, to experience the underwater world. She was a student of Theatre Arts UCLA and Twenty Century Fox Studio with Agnes Moorehead. SAG & AFTRA member since 1954 (list of credits incl. Kingdom of the Sea, Sea Hunt, GE Theatre, Wagon Train, Peter Gunn, and more. On call for all studios for performance with scuba. Over two dozen wet and dry television commercials; The Underwater Academy of Arts and Sciences’ NOGI Distinguished Service Award 1973; DEMA’s Reaching Out Award 1993; Women’s Scuba Association, Scuba Diver of the Year 1999; Women’s Scuba Hall of Fame 1999; National Association of Underwater Instructors Hall of Fame 2000. NOGI Board of Directors 2001; Los Angeles County Parks and Recreation Education Award 2001. With Albert Tillman, co-authored Scuba America Vol. I , The Human History of Sport Diving in America which premiered in January 2001.

Chosen by Executive Order October 2001 to be The Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences’ “Ambassador at Large”...a lifelong appointment. Selected for induction into the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame 2002 by the Board of Governors of Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, bestowed by The Honorable W. McKeeva Bush, OBE., JP., Leader of Government Business, Minister of Tourism, Environment, Development and Commerce for the Cayman Islands Government.